
BEFORE THE ARKANSAS MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION 

 

IN THE MATTER OF:           AP# 11-001 

 

ORR CHEVROLET CADILLAC 

 

NOTICE OF VIOLATION 

 IT HAS BEEN determined by the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission 

(hereinafter “Commission”) that Orr Chevrolet Cadillac (hereinafter “Orr”), a licensed 

dealer, utilized false and misleading advertising.  This is in direct violation of the 

Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission Act, Ark Code Ann. §23-112-101, et seq., pursuant 

to Ark. Code Ann. §23-112-204.  If the Commission determines that a firm or individual 

has violated the Commission Act or Rules, the Commission may revoke or suspend the 

license, or impose a civil penalty in lieu of revocation or suspension.      

FACTUAL BACKGROUND 

F1. On January 18, 2011, Jennifer Padgett with the Commission reviewed an Orr 

advertisement from the January 8, 2011, edition of Arkansas Democrat Gazette.  

F2. The advertisement featured a selection of new vehicles with sale prices provided. 

Three of the six vehicles listed included an “Owner Loyalty Rebate” in the sale 

price, which means the consumer must qualify to receive the rebate by owning a 

General Motors product. 

F3. The advertisement also listed a 2010 Cadillac CTS with an MSRP price of 

$40,890, an Orr discount of $9,549, and a sale price of $27,462.  The sale price 

should have been listed for no less than $31,341.  
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F4. On January 18, 2011, Ms. Padgett sent a letter to Orr advising the dealership of 

the violations, and notifying the dealership that the matter would be reviewed by 

the Commission’s Ad Hoc Committee during the January 19, 2011, meeting. 

APPLICABLE LAW 

L1. Motor vehicle dealers are required to conform their conduct to the Motor Vehicle 

Commission Act, Ark. Code Act § 23-112-101, et seq. and the Rules promulgated 

by the Commission pursuant to Ark. Code Act § 23-112-204.   

L2. Violations of Commission Rules are considered to be a prima facie violation of 

Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-402(3) which states it is unlawful for a motor vehicle 

dealer or salesperson to use any false or misleading advertisement.   

L3. Failure to comply with any provision of the AMVC Act or any Rule promulgated 

by the Commission may lead to revocation or suspension of the license as per 

Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-308(a)(4).  The Commission may issue a monetary 

penalty in lieu of revocation or suspension as per Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-309. 

L4. Rule 3 Advertising, Section 2 (A)(2) states the price of a new motor vehicle, when 

advertised by the dealer, must be the price that is available to every consumer.  

Rebates or incentives that are available to all consumers without qualification can 

be deducted from the price.  Limited rebates or incentives that are only available 

to select or qualifying consumers shall not be deducted from the advertised price.  

L5. False or misleading advertising is prohibited by Rule 3 Advertising, Section 2. 
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CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

C1. Orr violated Commission statutes and the Advertising Rule when they advertised 

a sale price utilizing a limited rebate.  This conclusion is based on L1, L2, L3, and 

L4.  

C2. Orr violated Commission statutes and the Advertising Rule when they utilized 

false and misleading advertising by misrepresenting a vehicle sales price.  This 

conclusion is based on L1, L2, L3, and L5.  

  

AS A RESULT OF THESE VIOLATIONS, you are hereby directed to pay a civil 

penalty in the amount of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).  This amount should be sent to 

the Commission within seven (7) days of receipt of this Notice of Violation.   

 IF YOU DESIRE TO CONTEST the alleged violation or the penalty imposed, 

please so indicate on the attached form and return to the Commission Office within seven 

(7) days and this matter will be set for an evidentiary hearing before the Commission.   

 

    ARKANSAS MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION 

 

 

    By:          

     Greg Kirkpatrick, Executive Director 

 

    Date:          
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Case:  AP #11-001 

ORR CHEVROLET CADILLAC 

 

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT 

 

 

 ⁫ I, ____________________, owner or a representative of Orr Chevrolet 

Cadillac, acknowledge that I received and read the foregoing Notice of Violation. 

 

 

 ⁫ I admit that I violated the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Act and/or Rules as 

alleged in the attached Notice of Violation, and agree to pay a civil penalty in the amount 

of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).  My remittance in that amount is enclosed 

 

 ⁫ I desire to contest the allegations set forth in the attached Notice of 

Violation and the proposed civil penalty. 

 

 

       ______________________________ 

       Signature  

 

 

       ______________________________ 

       Date 

 

 

 


