BEFORE THE ARKANSAS MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION
IN THE MATTER OF: - AP#15-001
BANITA PERKINS
Vvs.

NORTH POINT MAZDA VOLKSWAGEN

NOTICE OF VIOLATION

IT HAS BEEN determined by the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission
(hereinafter “Commission™) that North Point Mazda Volkswagen (hereinafter “North
Point”), a licensed dealer, violated the delivery prior to sale statute. This action is in
direct violation of the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission Act, Ark Code Ann. §23-
112-101, et seq., pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §23-112-204. If the Commission
determines that a firm or individual has violated the Commission Act or Rules, the
Commussion may revoke or suspend the license, or impose a monetary penalty in licu of
revocation or suspension if the public interest would not be impaired thereby and the
payment of the penalty will achieve the desired disciplinary results.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The Commission finds the following facts as true:
F1. North Point is located at 6630 Lander Road, Sherwood, AR.

F2. OnJuly 19, 2014, Banita Perkins purchased a 2014 Volkswagen CC and traded-in

a 2007 Nissan Altima.
F3.  Ms. Perkins deal was unable to get funded
F4.  According to Ms. Perkins notarized complaint dated September 4, 2014, she was

told that North Point wanted their car back (the 2014 Volkswagen CC), they told



F5.

Fé.

Li.

L2.

L3.

her that her trade-in (2007 Nissan Altima) was sold, and they would try to get it
back.

According to Ms. Perkins notarized complaint, “I don’t want the car. When I left
the car I was aware of the car condition. But as of today I don’t know. Someone
has been in my car for 47 days. So I no longer want the car.”

Commission Investigator Gordon McCoy confirmed with North Point
Volkswagen Finance Manager Collin Riggin and General Manager Chad
McClellon that Ms. Perkins® 2007 Nissan Altima was sold and recovered.

APPLICABLE LAW

Motor vehicle dealers are required to conform their conduct to the Motor Vehicle
Commission Act, Ark. Code Act § 23-112-101, et seq. and the Rules promulgated
by the Commission pursuant to Ark. Code Act § 23-112-204.

Failure to comply with any provision of the AMVC Act may lead to revocation or
suspension of the license as per Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-308(a}4). The
Commission may issue a monetary penalty in lieu of revocation or suspension as
per Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-309.

In accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-316 related to delivery prior to sales
transactions, a dealer shall provide the consumer an agreement for delivery prior
to sale at the time of delivery of the motor vehicle to the consumer. The
agreement states that a new motor vehicle dealer shall not sell a trade-in until the
contract for sale is final. Additionally, a consumer retains the right to cancel the

purchase of a motor vehicle if the consumer fails to obtain financing that meets



the agreed upon interest rate. If the consumer cancels the purchase, the dealer
shall immediately return the trade-in.
CHARGES
Cl.  North Point violated Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-316 when they failed to have Ms.
Perkins sign a delivery prior to sale agreement form after North Point delivered
the Volkswagen CC to her prior to the completion of the contract for sale, and

when North Point sold Ms. Perkins trade-in prior to the completion of the contract

for sale.

AS A RESULT OF THESE VIOLATIONS, you are hereby directed to pay a civil
penalty in the amount of two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500.00). This amount
should be sent to the Commission within seven (7) days of receipt of this Notice of
Violation.

IF YOU DESIRE TO CONTEST the alleged violation or the penalty imposed,
please so indicate on the attached form and return to the Commission Office within seven

(7) days and this matter will be set for an evidentiary hearing before the Commission.
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