BEFORE THE ARKANSAS MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION

IN THE MATTER OF: AP# 14-003

LAURA FOWLER

V8.

CRAIN HYUNDAI OF BENTONVILLE

NOTICE OF VIOLATION

IT HAS BEEN determined by the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission
(hereinafter “Commission™) that Crain Hyundai of Bentonville (hereinafter “Crain™), a
licensed dealer, violated the disclosure of damage prior to sale statute. This action is in
direct violation of the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission Act, Ark Code Ann. §23-
112-101, et seq., pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. §23-112-204. If the Commission
determines that a firm or individual has violated the Commission Act or Rules, the
Commission may revoke or suspend the license, or impose a monetary penalty in lieu of
revocation or suspension if the public interest would not be impaired thereby and the
payment of the penalty will achieve the desired disciplinary results.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The Commission finds the following facts as true:

F1. Crain 1s located at 3000 SE Moberly Lane, Bentonville, AR 72712.

F2. On November 29, 2013, Mrs. Laura A. Fowler visited Crain, purchased a new
2013 Hyundai Santa Fe Sport AWD for the cash price of $28,999.00, and traded-
in her 2012 Hyundai Tucson.

¥3.  The new Hyundai Santa Fe was damaged prior to the sale to Ms. Fowler in the

amount estimated at $10,000 to $15.000.
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This damage prior to sale by Crain was not disclosed.

APPLICABLE LAW

Motor vehicle dealers are required to conform their conduct to the Motor Vehicle
Commission Act, Ark. Code Act § 23-112-101, ef seq. and the Rules promulgated
by the Commission pursuant to Ark. Code Act § 23-112-204.
Failure to comply with any provision of the AMVC Act may lead to revocation or
suspension of the license as per Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-308(a)(4). The
Commission may issue a monetary penalty in lieu of revocation or suspension as
per Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-309.
In accordance with Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-706 (a), whenever a motor vehicle
is damaged after delivery to the dealer by the manufacturer or distributor but
before sale by the dealer to the consumer, and the occurrence and extent of such
damage is in excess of six percent (6%) of the sticker price of the vehicle, it must
be disclosed by the dealer to the consumer prior to the sale, and upon repair of the
damage sustained, or replacement of parts or accessories damaged, the dealer
must certify to the consumer that this motor vehicle has been repaired or
remanufactured according to the manufacturer's standards, and (b) upon such
certiftcation, liability for any concealed damages then remaining with the motor
vehicle shall lie with the dealer.

CHARGES
Crain violated Ark. Code Ann. § 23-112-706 when it failed to notify Mrs. Fowler

of the damages prior to sale.



AS A RESULT OF THESE VIOLATIONS, you are hereby directed to pay a civil
penalty in the amount of one thousand dollars ($2,500.00). This amount should be sent to
the Commission within seven (7) days of receipt of this Notice of Violation.

IF YOU DESIRE TO CONTEST the alleged violation or the penalty imposed,
please so indicate on the attached form and return to the Commission Office within seven

(7) days and this matter will be set for an evidentiary hearing before the Commission.
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